Timing and expression, the key to the meaning of everything

As I write a book on how to learn Lao, the language of Laos, I am struck by how the essence of the language seems to be based on action not things. So for the English word ‘necessary’, it is in Lao ‘must be’. It is all about active being or coming into being.

I think the latest research into cells shows a complexity which challenges the semi static science of action through partial change. Hundreds of years ago they (including Newton) were very clever in coming up with doing the mathematics of continuous change by segmenting it into infinitely small pieces. It is very clever but it offers some challenges. Does change occur with the interaction of very small pieces in very small steps, or is continuity part of the fabric of reality?

I don’t think we even know if this is a problem of philosophy or science. Maybe they are both the same thing?

It seems to be clear that ‘you are a product of your DNA’ is not the full and absolute truth. Genes are important, but what triggers their ‘expression’? Other things in cells and what your environment is doing to alter the particular chemical mix at the time.

And timing is everything in this expression. Get the timing wrong and the expression changes.

It seems to me this brings a very different view on life itself, day to day life. Timing is everything because we are designed to be triggered by events if, and only if, the timing is right. Our exchanges of looks and words and gestures are truly well timed or badly timed, there is little in between.

And right down to the sub atomic level, it may be that we have to think about action as being what creates things not things create action. It is not easy getting my head around that!

Coming back to my learning of Lao, and my writing about how to Learn Lao, it feels like I have, and want to see a new meaning to the idea of being, not as a static self but an expressive self, to see and feel being as active, being and doing  come close, so close as to be almost one.

No Links to web sites today, in sympathy with the Wiki blackout to put pressure on the possible SOPA and PIPA acts in the USA.

 

 

 

About Graham Rawlinson

I now have 5 books published as Ebooks http://amzn.to/iOyowj. They feel like part of a life's work, somehow all the different jobs I have had in my life, from postman to psychologist to facilitator of inventions and running a food business, they all build into a way of loving life, the ups and the downs. I hope you like the blogs I write, and then like the books I write. I hope you will want to take some time out of your life to share some thoughts with me. For that, I thank you. Graham
This entry was posted in Economics, Education, science. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

